

Advisory Committee for Environmental Research and Education

7-8 November 2023 Meeting - All times Eastern Time Hybrid Meeting; **Room 2160**

November 7, 2023: 10:00 am – 5:00 pm November 8, 2023: 10:00 am – 3:30 pm

Interested parties can register to join via teleconference at: https://nsf.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_g5SIGCXrS_C5XSHwmGNnMw

Closed Caption will be available via the zoom platform (same link as above)

Agenda

November 7, 2023

10:00 - 10:30 New Member Orientation

10:30 - 10:40 COI and Ethics Briefing

[Open meeting begins]

10:40 - 11:00 am Welcoming Remarks

Kimberly L. Jones, Howard University, AC ERE Chair

Arnoldo Valle Levinson, AC-ERE Exec Sec

Alicia Knoedler, Head, Office of Integrative Activities, NSF

11:00 - 11:30 am NSF Update

Alicia Knoedler, Head, Office of Integrative Activities, NSF

11:30 - 12:15 pm Minimizing Environmental Impacts

Subcommittee Members: Vicki Grassian (Chair), Rodolfo Torres, Cathy

Whitlock, Kimberly Jones

Session Moderator and Chair of Work Group: Vicki Grassian

12:15 – 1:00 pm Environmental Equity

Work Group: Robin Leichenko, Amanda Lynch, Claire Monteleoni, Ada

Monzon, Raina Plowright, Kimberly Jones **Session Moderator**: Kimberly Jones

1:00 - 2:00 pm Lunch

2:00 – 2:45 pm Broadening Participation

Work Group: Lora Billings, Vicki Grassian (Co-Chair), Bo Li (Co-Chair), Ada

Monzon, Diane Pataki, Raina Plowright

Session Moderators and Co-Chairs: Bo Li and Vicki Grassian

2:45 – 3:30 pm Water Availability and Security

Work Group: Cathy Whitlock, Diane Pataki (Chair), Vicki Grassian, Kimberly

Jones

Session Moderator and Chair of Work Group: Diane Pataki

3:30-3:45 pm Break

3:45 – 4:45 pm AC-ERE Priorities

4:45-4:50 pm Committee Business

Approval of Minutes

4:50-5:15 pm Liaison Reports

Kimberly Jones, ENG Robin Leichenko, SBE Ada Monzon, EDU Cathy Whitlock, GEO Rodolfo Torres, MPS

5:15 pm Adjourn Day 1

5:30 pm Committee Dinner

November 8, 2023

10:00 - 11:00 am AC-ERE Strategic Planning

Kimberly L. Jones, AC ERE Chair

11:00-12:00 pm AI for Environmental Research and Education

Work Group: Lora Billings (Chair), Bo Li, Claire Monteleoni, Rodolfo Torres,

Kimberly Jones

Session Moderator and Chair of Work Group: Lora Billings

Claire Monteleoni, Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of

Colorado Boulder, AC ERE Member

Sara Beery, Assistant Professor, Artificial Intelligence and Decision-Making,

MIT

Sidney D'Mello, Professor, Institute of Cognitive Science, University of

Colorado Boulder

Anthony Scriffignano, Distinguished Fellow, Alfred Lee Loomis Innovation

Council, The Stimson Center

Discussion

12:00 – 1:00 pm Working Lunch: AI for Environmental Research and Education

1:00 -1:30 pm	Break
1:30 - 2:30 pm	Preparation for Discussion with NSF Senior Leadership
2:30 - 3:00 pm	Discussion with Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan, NSF Director; Karen Marrongellle, NSF Chief Operating Officer; Brian Stone, Chief of Staff
3:00 - 3:30 pm	AC-ERE Discussion Wrap-up
3:30 pm	Adjourn