NSF

National Science Foundation (NSF)

Computer & Information Science & Engineering (CISE) Advisory Committee (AC)

Virtual Meeting Agenda

https://nsf.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_ks5z7cjMQ-qg8y8X5lb0mQ

Wednesday, May 5, 2021 (all times Eastern)

11:00 AM Welcome, introductions, review of agenda, and approval of minutes

Magdalena Balazinska, Co-Chair, CISE AC

Rob Rutenbar, Co-Chair, CISE AC

11:15 AM New members welcome and introductions

Andrew Chien, Member, CISE AC Carla Gomes, Member, CISE AC Chris Johnson, Member, CISE AC Timothy Pinkston, Member, CISE AC

11:25 AM NSF and CISE update

Margaret Martonosi, Assistant Director for CISE, NSF

12:45 PM Break

1:00 PM Option 1: CISE Partnerships

Terry Benzel, Member, CISE AC Vint Cerf, Member, CISE AC

Gabriela Cruz Thompson, Member, CISE AC

Marie desJardin, Member, CISE AC

Tom Kalil, Member, CISE AC

Muthu Muthukrishnan, Member, CISE AC

Klara Nahrstedt, Member, CISE AC Padma Raghavan, Member, CISE AC

2:00 PM Break

2:15 PM Option 2: Growing and Diversifying the Domestic Graduate Pipeline

Marie desJardin, Member, CISE AC Ran Libeskind-Hadas, Member, CISE AC Magdalena Balazinska, Co-Chair, CISE AC

Charles Isbell, Member, CISE AC Muriel Medard, Member, CISE AC

3:15 PM	Break
3:30 PM	Report-out and next steps from breakout groups
4:00 PM	Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (OAC) update Manish Parashar, Office Director for OAC, NSF
4:30 PM	Adjourn

Thursday, May 6, 2021 (all times Eastern)

	, , o, ==== (a aa. =a.a.a)
11:00 AM	Welcome and overview of day 1 Rob Rutenbar, Co-Chair, CISE AC Magdalena Balazinska, Co-Chair, CISE AC
11:15 AM	Discussion of computing research infrastructure issues
12:00 PM	Future AC topics and working groups
12:30 PM	Break
1:15 PM	CISE AC meeting best practices
1:45 PM	Break
2:00 PM	Prep for Visit by the NSF Director and Chief Operating Officer (COO)
2:45 PM	Break
3:00 PM	Meeting with NSF Director and COO Sethuraman Panchanathan, NSF Director F. Fleming Crim, NSF COO
3:30 PM	Discussion among AC members following meeting with NSF Director and COO
4:00 PM	Departing Members' Reflections Muthu Muthukrishnan, Member, CISE AC
4:15 PM	Closing Remarks Rob Rutenbar, Co-Chair, CISE AC Magdalena Balazinska, Co-Chair, CISE AC
4:30 PM	Adjourn