National Science Foundation (NSF)



Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) Advisory Committee (AC)

Virtual Meeting Agenda

https://nsf.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_dt4BsixoToeyv7jFKP6B3g

Monday, May 16, 2022 (all times Eastern)

11:00 AM	Welcome, introductions, review of agenda, and approval of minutes Magdalena Balazinska, Co-Chair, CISE AC Rob Rutenbar, Co-Chair, CISE AC
11:15 AM	New members welcome and introductions Raja Kushalnagar, Member, CISE AC Amy McGovern, Member, CISE AC
11:25 AM	NSF and CISE update Margaret Martonosi, Assistant Director for CISE, NSF
12:45 PM	Break
1:45 PM	NSF activities towards geography of innovation Alicia Knoedler, Office Head for Integrative Activities, NSF
2:15 PM	CISE AC liaison status reports Charles Isbell, Jr., Member, CISE AC, AC ERE liaison, outgoing Timothy Pinkston, Member, CISE AC, CEOSE liaison Padma Raghavan, Member, CISE AC, ACCI liaison
3:00 PM	CISE AC breakout discussions – 1) climate research; and 2) CISE community organization
4:00 PM	Reports following breakout discussions
4:45 PM	Recap of Day 1 and look-ahead to Day 2 Magdalena Balazinska, Co-Chair, CISE AC Rob Rutenbar, Co-Chair, CISE AC
5 PM	Adjourn for the day

Tuesday, May 17, 2022 (all times Eastern)

11:00 AM	Welcome and overview of day Magdalena Balazinska, Co-Chair, CISE AC Rob Rutenbar, Co-Chair, CISE AC
11:30 AM	NASEM report on responsible computing research Barbara Grosz, Study Committee Chair, Harvard University Jon Eisenberg, Senior Board Director, Computer Science and Telecommunications Board
12:45 PM	Break
1:45 PM	Departing CISE Division Director reflections Henry Kautz, Division Director for Information and Intelligent Systems, NSF Rance Cleaveland, Division Director for Computing and Communication Foundations, NSF
2:15 PM	Prep for visit by the NSF Director and Chief Operating Officer (COO)
2:45 PM	Break
3:00 PM	Meeting with NSF Director and COO Sethuraman Panchanathan, NSF Director Karen Marrongelle, NSF COO
3:30 PM	Discussion among AC members following meeting with NSF Director and COO
4:00 PM	Departing Members' reflections Charles Isbell, Jr., Member, CISE AC
4:15 PM	Closing remarks Magdalena Balazinska, Co-Chair, CISE AC Rob Rutenbar, Co-Chair, CISE AC
4:30 PM	Adjourn