National Science Foundation (NSF) Advisory Committee for Cyberinfrastructure (ACCI)

Spring (HYBRID) Meeting, April 11-12, 2024

Meeting Minutes

Day 1 (April 11, 2024)

ACCI Welcome, Committee Introductions, and Review of Agenda

Ruth Marinshaw and Hakizumwami Birali Runesha, ACCI Co-Chairs Birali Runesha, ACCI Co-chair, began the Spring 2024 ACCI meeting by greeting everyone on behalf of the co-chairs and ACCI members. Birali reviewed the agenda and administrative items for participants.

Members in attendance are listed in the minutes in the Appendix.

Updates from the Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (OAC)

Katerina Antypas, Office Director, OAC

Ruth Marinshaw introduced OAC Office Director Katie Antypas. Katie provided an update on OAC activities. Amy Walton provided an update on the National Discovery Cloud for Climate (NDC-C). There was a discussion about the need for standards, policies, and equitable use access regarding the National Artificial Intelligence Research Resource (NAIRR) resources.

Updates from the Computer & Information Sharing & Engineering (CISE) Directorate

Dilma Da Silva, Acting Assistant Director, CISE

Ruth introduced CISE Acting Assistant Director Dilma Da Silva. Dilma discussed the NSF budget status and NSF's strategic themes.

Open Discussion with OAC and CISE Management

ACCI Members, Katerina Antypas (OAC)

There was a discussion on OAC outreach efforts with minority-serving institutions, crossagency collaborative opportunities, funding resources for the NAIRR, communication strategies for the NDC-C, NAIRR co-funding opportunities with other NSF directorates and divisions, scope of private industry contributions to the NAIRR Pilot, NAIRR Pilot outcomes and expectations.

NAIRR Pilot Subcommittee Formation/Charge

ACCI Members

Birali reviewed the charge. David Lassner voted to approve the charge; Clair Porter second. ACCI members voted unanimously to approve the NAIRR Pilot Subcommittee Charge. Birali requested ACCI members nominate names of Subcommittee membership by April 29, 2024. Birali mentioned that no more than eight ACCI members can be on the Subcommittee.

Focus Session #1: Feedback on Learning and Workforce Development Strategy

Amy Apon, Program Director, OAC

Amy presented information regarding challenges and tradeoffs of community building and Learning and Workforce Development (LWD). A discussion on developing plans for longevity for awardees, outreach in minority-serving and tribal communities, tracking outcomes across awards, how emergent programs like Artificial Intelligence may disrupt traditional learning methods.

Final Thoughts and Adjourn for the Day

Birali concluded the day by reflecting on the day's topics with ACCI members and reviewing the agenda for Day 2.

ACCI Welcome, Committee Introductions, and Review of Agenda

Ruth Marinshaw and Hakizumwami Birali Runesha, ACCI Co-Chairs Birali began the Day 2 of the meeting with a review of the agenda and administrative reminders for the ACCI members.

Focus session #2: Data Subcommittee

ACCI Members

Rommie Amaro provided an update on where the working group currently stands. A discussion followed regarding the working group charge, focus areas for the working group, and outcomes for the working group. Birali concluded by requesting ACCI members to nominate Subcommittee members to the ACCI Co-Chairs.

Follow-up Discussion: Feedback on Learning and Workforce Development Strategy

ACCI Members

The discussion opened with a recap of the previous day's presentation and continued with discussing cyber infrastructure in classroom, broadening participation in cyber infrastructure, and the role that minority-serving institutions can play in learning and workforce development.

Reflections from Spring Meeting, Discussion for Fall ACCI Meeting Topics ACCI Members

Birali reviewed the sessions from the two-day meeting and a discussion regarding NSF capabilities ensued. Birali continued with identifying potential topics of discussion for the Fall ACCI meeting and concluded with reviewing calendar dates for the Fall meeting.

The meeting concluded at 1:22PM EDT.

APPENDIX 1: Members in attendance

Patrick Heimbach		
Deborah Dent		
Susan Gregurick		
Ruth Marinshaw		
Valerie Taylor		
Rommie Amaro		
Hakizumwami Runesha		
Anita Nikolich		
David Lassner		
Claire Porter		
Willie Pearson		
Ryan Abernathey		
Peter Mattson		
Samual Graham		
Ann Gates		
Andrew Chien		
Julia Lane		

APPENDIX 2: NSF Attendees

NSF Staff	Title
Dilma Da Silva	Acting Assistant Director/CISE
Katie Antypas	Office Head/OAC
Leslie Ries	DBI/BIO/NSF
Amy Walton	Deputy Office Director/OAC
Christine Christy	Project Manager/OAC
Amy Apon	Program Director/OAC
Robert Beverly	Program Director/OAC
Al Suarez	Program Director/OAC
Jen Li	Program Director/OAC
Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen	Program Director/OAC
Appolinaire Abo	Program Analyst/OAC
Tom Gulbransen	Program Director/OAC
Robert Chadduck	Program Director/OAC
Edward Walker	Program Director/OAC
Gabrielle Marshall	Program Assistant/OAC
Rediet Woldeselassie	Data Scientist/OAC
Daniel Bullock	AAAS Fellow/OAC