# Welcome to the 2024 EPSCoR PI Meeting

Leveraging EPSCoR Investments for Increasing Impact May 20-21, 2024

Sandra Richardson Head, Research Capacity and Competitiveness Section Office of the Director | Office of Integrative Activities



NSF Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR)

## **FY24 EPSCoR Program Team**

Sandra Richardson Section Head

Yolanda Allen Program Analyst

Pinhas Ben-Tzvi t Program Officer

Lisa Cliggett Program Officer Jose Colom Program Officer

Andrea Johnson Program Officer

Casonya Johnson Program Officer Tori Jordan Program Specialist



















Liz Lawrence Sr. Program Analyst



Hongmei Luo Program Officer

En MaGall

Ben McCall Program Officer



Dave Ogden Science Analyst



Jeanne Small Program Officer



**Program Officer** 



Chinonye Whitley Program Officer



2

### Acknowledgements

- NSF EPSCoR
  - o special thanks to Elizabeth Lawrence, Yolanda Allen, and Tori Jordan
- NSF Meetings and Events Management
- NSF IT Support and OIA Tech Support, Christian Jaldin Passarelli and Louis Bailey (OIA)
- NSF Media Relations and Steven Buhneing (OIA)
- All Presenters, Moderators, and Volunteers

# General Housekeeping for In-Person Attendees

- Light Refreshments
- Restroom Locations
- Emergency Contacts
  - NSF Security: x5555 or (703) 292-5070
- Register for InformaCast (temporary) emergency notifications by sending **#YES** to (833) 231-4073 or (240) 724-8252.

### Code of Conduct for 2024 EPSCoR PI Meeting

NSF EPSCoR is committed to providing a safe and productive meeting environment that fosters open dialogue and the exchange of scientific ideas, promotes equal opportunities and treatment for all participants, and is free of harassment and discrimination. All participants are expected to treat others with respect and consideration, follow venue rules, and alert staff or security of any dangerous situations or anyone in distress. NSF prohibits any form of harassment, sexual or otherwise. Any attendee who believes they are being subjected to harassing or threatening behavior during the meeting should contact NSF EPSCoR leadership (<u>nsfepscor@nsf.gov</u>) or NSF Office of Equity and Civil Rights (eeo@nsf.gov).

### Welcome to the 2024 EPSCoR PI Meeting!

#EPSCoRPI2024 and #EPSCoR2024

EPSCoR PI Meeting Agenda



nsf.gov/epscor

Μ	lon	da	у,	Μ	ay	20	, 2	024
---	-----	----	----	---	----	----	-----	-----

8:30 – 9:00am	Light Refreshments
9:00 – 9:20am	Greetings and Introduction Sandra Richardson, Research Capacity and Competitiveness, Section Head
9:20 – 9:30am	Welcome Remarks Alicia Knoedler, Office of Integrative Activities, Head
9:30 – 10:30am	Keynote Address Hollie Mackey, Interim Chief Strategy Officer for the North Dakota Advanced Agriculture Technology Engine and Associate Professor of Educational and Organizational Leadership, North Dakota State University
10:30 – 11:00am	<b>EPSCoR Programmatic Updates</b> Sandra Richardson, Research Capacity and Competitiveness, Section Head
11:00am – 12:00pm	Pathway to Success for Inaugural Cohort of E-CORE RII Awardees J.D. Swanson, EPSCoR Program Director, OD/OIA Chi-Chi Nnakwe Whitley, EPSCoR Program Director, OD/OIA
12:00 – 1:00pm	Lunch
1:00 – 1:30pm	NSF Office of Legislative & Public Affairs (OLPA) Update Amanda Greenwell, OLPA Head
1:30 – 2:30pm	Directorate Open House Cafeteria: BIO, CISE, EDU, ENG Portrait Gallery: BFA, OIA, OISE Room W2160: GEO, MPS Room W2190, SBE, TIP

Monday, May 20, 2024

2:30 – 3:00pm NSF Policy Update Jean Feldman, Head, Policy Office, Division of Institution & Award Support

3:00 – 4:00pm Leveraging EPSCoR Investments RII Track-1: Gary Zank, Distinguished Professor & Space Science Chair, University of Alabama RII Focused EPSCoR Collaborations: Vaishali Sharda, Assistant Professor, Kansas State University RII Track-3: John Monahan, Consulting Specialist, University of Alaska-Fairbanks RII EPSCoR Research Fellows: Zhe Qiang, Assistant Professor, University of Southern Mississippi

4:00 – 5:00pm Optional Meetings Project Directors' Council: Room 2010 (Plenary) Project Administrators' Council: Room W2210 Education, Outreach, & Diversity Staff: Room W2220 RII Bridging EPSCoR Communities: Room W2160 RII Focused EPSCoR Collaborations, FY23 Awardees: Room W2190 RII EPSCoR Research Fellows: Room E3430

#### **Optional Meetings with EPSCoR Program Directors**

Advanced sign-up required, sign-up sheet located at registration table

Tuesday, May 21, 2	024					
8:00 – 8:45am	Light Refreshments					
	<b>Optional Meetings with EPSCoR Program Directors</b> Advanced sign-up required, sign-up sheet located at registration table					
8:45 – 9:00am	Greetings and Introduction Sandra Richardson, Research Capacity and Competitiveness, Section Head					
9:00 – 9:30am	<b>CHIPS &amp; Science and Agency Priority Goal Updates</b> Sandra Richardson, Research Capacity and Competitiveness, Section Head Alicia Knoedler, Office of Integrative Activities, Head Sylvia Butterfield, Deputy Assistant Director, Directorate for STEM Education					
9:30 – 10:00am	NSF Budget Update Beth Blue, Branch Chief, Office of Budget, Finance, and Award Management, Budget Division					
10:00 – 10:30am	Division of Grants & Agreements and Division of Institution & Award Support Update Cartia Brown-Morgan, Grants Management Specialist, Office of Budget, Finance, and Award Management, DGA Liz DeHart, Grant & Contract Cost Analyst, Office of Budget, Finance, and Award Management, DIAS					
10:30 – 11:30am	<ul> <li>Breakouts: Leveraging NSF Investments for EPSCoR Jurisdictions</li> <li>Leveraging GRANTED for Expanded Capacity Building: Plenary Room Dina Stroud, Program Director, GRANTED</li> <li>Engaging with NSF Regional Innovation Engines for Impact in EPSCoR Jurisdictions: Room 2210 Dmitri Perkins, Program Director, TIP/ITE</li> </ul>					

- Mid-scale Research Infrastructure, R1 vs. R2: Room 2220

#### Tuesday, May 21, 2024

#### 11:30am – 12:30pm LUNCH

12:30 – 1:30pm Focused Discussion Roundtables

### 1:30 – 2:30pm Directorate Open House Cafeteria: BIO, CISE, EDU, ENG Portrait Gallery: BFA, OIA, OISE Room W2160: GEO, MPS Room W2190, SBE, TIP

#### **2:30 – 3:30pm** Breakouts: Leveraging NSF Investments for EPSCoR Jurisdictions

- Leveraging GRANTED for Expanded Capacity Building: Plenary Room Dina Stroud, Program Director, GRANTED Alicia Knoedler, Office of Integrative Activities, Head
- Engaging with NSF Regional Innovation Engines for Impact in EPSCoR Jurisdictions: Room 2210
   Dmitri Perkins, Program Director, TIP/ITE
- Mid-scale Research Infrastructure, Management, Requirements, and Strategies: Room 2220
   Randy Phelps, Program Director, Office of Integrative Activities

Denise Pfeifer, Project Manager & Research Administrator, Boise State University

#### **3:30 – 3:45pm** Karen Marrongelle, NSF Chief Operating Officer

### 3:45 – 4:00pm National Conference Update and Farewell

Matt Andrews, Director, Nebraska EPSCoR Sandra Richardson, Research Capacity and Competitiveness, Section Head

### Recent EPSCoR News and Kudos

Congrats Maura McLaughlin (WV), EPSCoR RII researcher elected to the National Academy of Sciences!



Congrats AL EPSCoR on Inclusion in Washington Post <u>article</u>!

BEST PLACES TO WORK IN THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

2023



### **Congrats NSF RIE Awardees!**

In January, NSF Regional Innovation Engines (NSF Engines) <u>awarded 10 teams</u> <u>spanning 18 states</u>.

- <u>Future Use of Energy in</u> <u>Louisiana</u>
- <u>North Dakota Advanced</u>
   <u>Agriculture Technology</u>
   <u>Engine</u>
- <u>Colorado-Wyoming</u>
   <u>Climate Resilience Engine</u>

Open Mic for Jurisdiction News and Kudos (time permitting)

