NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION 4201 Wilson Boulevard ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA 22230



Date: July 26, 2017

To: File

From: Assistant Director for Geosciences

Subject: Demographics of the Division of Earth Sciences Committee of Visitors (COV)

The integrity of the COV mechanism rests, in a large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who are able to provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The Division of Earth Sciences COV represented a broad segment of the earth science research and education community involved in observational, theoretical, laboratory, and modeling research. The committee contained expertise in Climate Change; Education and Human Resources; and Earth Science Instrumentation and Facilities; Geobiology and Low Temperature Geochemistry; Geoinformatics; Geomorphology and Land Use Dynamics; Geophysics; Hydrologic Sciences; Paleogeology; Petrology and Geochemistry; Sedimentary Geology and Paleobiology; and Tectonics.

The diverse committee included seven females, three minority participants, representation from geographically diverse regions, and representation from diverse types of research and educational institutions and sister federal agencies.

Dr. Pamela Kempton served as Chair of the COV. She will provide a report on the findings and recommendations of the COV panel for the October 2017 Advisory Committee for Geosciences meeting.

COV members were not allowed access to any jackets with which they had a conflict.

COV members present during the meeting included:

Dr. Pamela Kempton, Kansas State University, Chair

Dr. Rajendra Bose, Columbia University

Dr. Virginia Burkett, USGS at Reston, VA

Dr. Jacqueline Dixon, University of South Florida

Dr. Steven Driese, Baylor University

Dr. Diana Elder, Northern Arizona University

Dr. Francisco Gomez, University of Missouri-Columbia

Dr. Michael Hamburger, Indiana University, Bloomington

- Dr. Bruce Houghton, University of Hawaii
- Dr. Guy Hovis, Lafayette College
- Dr. Steve Ingebritsen, USGS at Menlo Park, CA
- Dr. Patricia Kelley, University of North Carolina Wilmington
- **Dr.** Carla Koretsky, Western Michigan University
- **Dr.** Carolina Lithgow-Belielloni, University College London
- **Dr.** Timothy Melbourne, Central Washington University
- Dr. Joshua Roering, University of Oregon
- Dr. James Rustad, Department of Energy