NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION 4201 Wilson Boulevard ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA 22230



Date: August 7, 2015

To: File

From: Assistant Director for Geosciences $gm\omega$

Regarding: Selection of OCE/Research and Education COV

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in a large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who are able to provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The COV represented a broad segment of the oceanographic community involved in sea-going research. The committee contained expertise in biological oceanography, chemical oceanography, marine geology, marine geophysics, ocean education, and physical oceanography. This diverse committee included five females, two minority participants (Hispanic American), and representation from geographically diverse regions.

Dr. John W. Farrington served as Chair of the COV. He will provide a report on the findings and recommendations of the COV panel for the next AC-GEO meeting.

COV members were not allowed access to any jackets with which they had a conflict.

COV members present during the meeting were:

Dr. Mary-Elena Carr, New York, NY

Dr. Gerardo Chin-Leo, Evergreen College

Dr. John W. Farrington, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Dr. Deidre M. Gibson, Hampton University

- Dr. Miguel A. Goni, Oregon State University
- Dr. Keith Julien, University of Colorado at Boulder
- Dr. Jeffrey A. Karson, Syracuse University
- Dr. Ellen E. Martin, University of Florida
- Dr. Christopher L. Sabine, NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory
- Dr. Mary-Louise E. Timmermans, Yale University

Dr. Mary A. Voytek, National Aeronautics & Space Admini tration