NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION 2415 EISENHOWER AVENUE ALEXANDRIA, VA 22314



Office of the Assistant Director Directorate for Geosciences

DATE: August 13, 2021

TO: File

FROM: Assistant Director for Geosciences

Isern,
Alexandra R.

Alexandra R.

Digitally signed by Isern,
Alexandra R.

Date: 2021.09.10

18:46:04-04'00'

SUBJECT: Selection of the Division of Earth Sciences (EAR) Committee of Visitors

The credibility of the EAR Committee of Visitors (COV) mechanism rests, in large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who are able to provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The COV represented a broad segment of disciplines, consistent with the scope of activities within both Sections of the Division of Earth Sciences. The committee represented experts in Education and Human Resources; Instrumentation and Facilities; Geobiology and Low Temperature Geochemistry; Geoinformatics; Geomorphology and Land Use Dynamics; Geophysics; Hydrologic Sciences; Paleoclimate; Petrology and Geochemistry; Sedimentary Geology and Paleobiology; and Tectonics. The COV membership was diverse in gender, race, ethnicity, geographic region, and types of institutions, including federal agencies and research level.

Dr. Jacqueline Dixon served as the Chair of the COV. She was present for the entire COV meeting, led the development of the report, and circulated it to the committee for approval. Dr. Lihini Aluwihare from University of California, San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, served as the representative from the Advisory Committee for Geosciences. The four-day COV was held June 21-24, 2021. Due to the COVID19 pandemic the COV was held entirely virtually.

All conflicts of interest between COV members and EAR Program staff were handled according to the NSF ethics rules.

COV Membership:

Chair: Jacqueline Dixon, University of South Florida

AC-GEO: Lihini Aluwihare, UC San Diego, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Jose Luis Antinao, University of Indiana Bloomington

Estella Atekwana, University of Delaware

Wendy Bohrson, Colorado School of Mines

Michele Cooke, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Anne Egger, Central Washington University

Abby Kavner, University of California Los Angeles

Charles Mandeville, U.S. Geological Survey

Arnold Miller, University of Cincinnati

Patrick Reed, Cornell University

Jennifer A. Roberts, University of Kansas

Wendy Smythe, University of Minnesota, Duluth