

NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION

OFFICE OF POLAR PROGRAMS

2415 EISENHOWER AVENUE, ALEXANDRIA, VA 22314, SUITE W7100 | T: 703.292.8030 | F: 703.292.9081 | WWW.NSF.GOV

DATE: May 5, 2021

TO: Office of Integrative Activities

FROM: Dr. Kelly K. Falkner, Director, Office of Polar Programs (OPP)

SUBJECT: Report on membership of and resolution of conflicts during the 2020 Antarctic Sciences Section Committee of Visitors (COV)

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who can provide a balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The ANT COV represented a broad segment of the disciplines consistent with the scope of activities for which the Antarctic Section has oversight responsibilities. The COV was representative of the Antarctic research community as well as interdisciplinary polar research. The committee was comprised of members with expertise in biology, astronomy, geodesy, seismology, climate modeling, atmospheric science, physical oceanography, paleontology, and ecology. The committee included six female and four male members all from geographically diverse regions of the U.S.

Dr. Lee Kump, Dean of the College of Earth & Mineral Sciences, Pennsylvania State University, served as the Chair of the COV. He was present for the entire COV meeting, led the development of the report, and circulated it to the committee for approval. Dr. Michelle Mack from Northern Arizona University served as the representative from the Advisory Committee for the Office of Polar Programs. The three-day COV was held April 28-30, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the COV was held entirely virtually.

There were no conflicts of interest between any COV member and the Program Officers in the Section. Members were not allowed access to jackets with which they had a conflict.

COV members included:

<u>COV Chair</u> Lee Kump from the Pennsylvania State University

University of Wisconsin Madison
UNAVCO
University of Texas Austin
Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of
California San Diego
Carnegie Institute
Northern Arizona University
University of California, Davis
Columbia University Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
Princeton University