

## NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION

OFFICE OF POLAR PROGRAMS

2415 EISENHOWER AVENUE, ALEXANDRIA, VA 22314, SUITE W7100 | T: 703.292.8030 | F: 703.292.9081 | WWW.NSF.GOV

DATE: May 7, 2021

TO: Office of Integrative Activities

FROM: Dr. Kelly K. Falkner, Director, Office of Polar Programs (OPP)

SUBJECT: Report on membership of and resolution of conflicts during the 2020 Arctic Sciences

Section (ARC) Committee of Visitors (COV)

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who can provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The ARC COV represented a broad segment of the disciplines consistent with the scope of activities for which the Arctic Section has oversight responsibilities. The committee comprised members with expertise in archaeology, arctic policy, cell biology, Earth system modeling, ecology, evolution, atmospheric chemistry, climate dynamics, geography, history, marine ecosystems, marine chemistry, geochemistry, and animal physiology. This committee included two women, five men, representation from geographically diverse regions and a federal employee with National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). None had competed for Arctic Sciences support within the last 5 years.

Dr. Mike Sfraga, Director of the Polar Institute and Program for Risk and Resilience, Woodrow Wilson Center, served as the Chair of the COV. He was present for the entire COV meeting, led the development of the report, and circulated it to the committee for approval. Dr. Patricia Quinn, from NOAA, served as the representative from the Advisory Committee for the Office of Polar Programs. The three-day COV was held June 16-18, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the COV was held entirely virtually.

There were no conflicts of interest between any COV member and the Program Officers in the Section. Members were not allowed to comment on any jackets with which they had a conflict.

COV members included:

## **COV Chair**

Mike Sfraga from the Woodrow Wilson Center

## **COV Members**

Doug Bolender from University of Massachusetts, Boston Frank van Breukelen from University of Nevada, Las Vegas Luis Huckstadt from University of California, Santa Cruz Mark Kurz from Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute Gudrun Magnusdottir from University of California, Irvine

Patricia Quinn from National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and serving as a liaison with the Advisory Committee to the Office of Polar Programs.