NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION 4201 Wilson Boulevard ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA 22230



March 27, 2014

To: File

From: Assistant Director for Geosciences RMW

Regarding: Selection of PLR Arctic Section (ARC) COV Members

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in large part, on the selection of credible independent experts who are able to provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The COV represented a broad segment of the disciplines consistent with the scope of activities for which the PRL/ARC Section supports. The COV contained expertise in the Geosciences including earth system science, oceanography, geology and geophysics and glaciology, the social sciences and polar logistics as it impacts the conduct of research.

Dr Douglas MacAyeal served as chair of the COV. Dr Paul Bierman served as the COV liaison to GEO Advisory Committee and will report the COV's findings and recommendations to the AC/GEO at the Spring 2014 meeting.

All conflicts of interest between any COV member and Program Directors were handled according to NSF ethics rules.

COV Members included:

- Dr. Douglas MacAyeal, University of Chicago, Chair
- Dr. Paul Bierman, University of Vermont, liaison to AC/GEO
- Dr. John Farrell, US Arctic Research Commission
- Dr. Janet Intreiri, NOAA Earth System
- Dr. Martha McConnell, International Union for Conservation of Nature
- Dr. Liesel Ritchie, University of Colorado Boulder
- Dr. Rebecca Woodgate, University of Washington,