NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION 4201 Wilson Boulevard **ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA 22230**



ASSISTANT DIRECTOR FOR GEOSCIENCES

Date: June 20, 2016

To: File

Assistant Director for Geosciences \mathcal{RMW} From:

Selection of 2016 PLR/ANT COV Regarding:

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in a large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who are able to provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The 2016 PLR/ANT COV membership reflected the broad range of disciplines engaged in Antarctic research and supported by the NSF Antarctic Sciences section and the US Antarctic Program. The committee contained expertise in atmospheric science, astrophysics, biology, geology, geophysics, geospace science, paleoclimate, oceanography, and terrestrial ecosystems. This diverse committee included five females, one minority participant (Hispanic American), and geographically diverse representation from across the lower 48 states, Alaska, and Hawaii.

Dr. Susan Humphris of Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute served as Chair of the COV. She will provide a report on the findings and recommendations of the COV panel for the next AC-GEO meeting. Dr. Gregory Sullivan of the University of Maryland, College Park served as Liaison to the AC-GEO.

COV members present during the meeting were:

Dr. Philip J. Bart, Louisiana State University

Dr. Rebecca Bendick, University of Montana

Dr. Ted S. Clarke, Exxon Mobil/ Upstream Research Company

Dr. Janet M. Intrieri, NOAA/Earth System Research Laboratory

Dr. Paul A. Mayewski, University of Maine

Dr. Amy L. Moran, University of Hawaii

Dr. Aaron A. Velasco, University of Texas, El Paso

Dr. Lara Waldrop, University of Illinois

Dr. Jeffrey M. Welker, University of Alaska, Anchorage

COV members were not allowed access to any jackets with which they had a conflict.